The Difference is You: Your Service Matters

 On August 10th, 147 library support staff professionals from 27 counties from as far north as Lake and LaPorte to as far south as Vanderburgh attended the Difference is You Conference. This year we were excited to have our first ‘Your Service Matters’ award winner, Duane Herendeen from the Warsaw Community Public Library.  We were pleased to host and honor all those on the front lines and in the background who work hard every day in and for Indiana libraries. The day was full of training; there was a total of 15 sessions to choose from in five breakout sessions.  There were opportunities for networking, making new friends, and building new relationships.    We began with an inspiring message from Shanika Heyward, Branch Manager, of the Indianapolis Public Library’s East 38th Street branch.  She shared her story about how she began her career as an intern within the Indianapolis Public Library system to building a philanthropic collection without library school training!  We had welcome messages from the Indianapolis Public Library’s CEO, Jackie Nytes; State Librarian, Jacob Speer; and ILF Executive Director, Lucinda Nord.   Attendees that completed the follow-up survey made the following comments:

Jacob Speer, Indiana State Librarian

Jacob Speer, Indiana State Librarian

“I enjoyed most of the speakers, how well organized the event was, and the fantastic library in which it was held. I learned a lot in my day there and would love to attend more conferences in the future.” 

 “The fact that staff are respected and have their own conference.”

 “The location. What a cool library! The variety of sessions, especially where technology is concerned, was great! Shanika Hayward was simply inspiring!” 

Great speakers and info. The speakers were well-prepared and they definitely knew their stuff.”

If you didn’t attend this year, we hope you’ll think of attending 2017! If you are interested in presenting or have an idea for topics, please be on the lookout for a call for program proposals from the Professional Development Committee.

Submitted by:

Kimberly Brown-Harden, Northwest Regional Coordinator
Professional Development Office
Indiana State Library